Kybybolite and Penola feature heavily in KNTFL Limestone Coast Regional Carnival squads

CARNIVAL RETURNS: The 2019 winners of the Limestone Coast Regional Carnival under 17.5. PHOTO: File image.
CARNIVAL RETURNS: The 2019 winners of the Limestone Coast Regional Carnival under 17.5. PHOTO: File image.

Some of the Kowree-Naracoorte-Tatiara Football League's (KNTFL) most talented youngsters have been named for this week's Limestone Coast Regional Carnival.

Teams from the Western Border Football League and Mid South Eastern Football League will also converge on Millicent's McLaughlin Park this Saturday.

The carnival has been highly successful since it first started in 2014, and it will see each league's U15 and U17.5 squads play against each other once in shortened matches.

Due to the desire to rotate the participants in the senior match, KNTFL players will have to wait another year to pull on the Knights jumpers. Western Border will take on the Mid South Eastern squad in the seniors.

Excited for the return of interleague football, the KNT have named two strong junior squads, with Kybybolite, Penola and Kingston players featuring heavily.

For Kybybolite, Sid Shepherd, George Malone, Lachie McKenzie, Ryan O'Shaughnessy, Sid Malone, as well as Charlie Brodie will take to the field in the U15s clash.

Zac Zema, Ned Skeer, Cooper Gartner and Brock Summerhayes are the four Penola players to be named, while Fletcher Taylor, Matthew Maney and Blake East are the representatives from Naracoorte.

Kingston also have a strong contingent of players, with Fraser Watts, Luke Watson and J-De Peterson named from the Saints.

Mundulla's Pieter Muller and Sam Lovelock, Bordertown's Daniel Will and Lachlan Glynn, Keith's Travis Wilson and Padthaway-Lucindale's Ethan Hocking and Adam Pitt round out the U15 squad.

Craig Watson will coach the team, Ashley Stenner is the assistant and selector, Nick Malone is the team manager and Mark Brown will be the team's runner.

A strong U17.5 squad will feature plenty of talent from Kybybolite and Penola.

Brodie Pratter, Darcy Ewer, Angus McKenzie, Jake Shepherd and Ollie Bennett were selected from the Tigers, while Anders McShane, Dylan Morton, Same Hayes, Darcy Porter, Aaron Zerk and Lochy Neale were selected from the Eagles.

Ethan Murdock, Josh Troeth, Harry Stenner and Jeremy Braithwaite are the representatives from the Saints, while Tom Anderson and Sam Thompson will be the Demons putting on the Knights jumper.

Two Crows that were selected for the squad were Rafferty McMurray and Dylan Qualmann, and down the Dukes Highway, Bryson Hinge is the only player to be named from Bordertown.

MacKenzie Pickering and Hamish Young will represent Mundulla, while Cody Clarke and Will Graetz are the two players to be named from Padthaway-Lucindale.

The coaching box will see Andrew Shepherd take charge of the talented squad, with Kieron Hicks named as his assistant. Ashley Stenner will also hold the same role as he has in the U15 squad.

Megan Thompson will be the team manager, while former Port Adelaide-listed player and Padthaway forward Tobin Cox will be the team's runner.

Limestone Coast Regional Carnival fixture:

Game 1: 9:50am WBFL U15 v MSEFL U15 (Finishing Time 10.30am).

Game 2: 10.40am WBFL U17 v MSEFL U17 (Finishing Time 11.20am).

Game 3: 11:30am WBFL U15 v KNTFL U15 (Finishing Time 12.10pm).

Game 4: 12.20pm WBFL U17 v KNTFL U17 (Finishing Time 1.00pm).

Game 5: 1:10pm MSEFL U15 v KNTFL U15 (Finishing Time 1.50pm).

Game 6: 2:00pm MSEFL U17 v KNTFL U17 (Finishing Time 2.40pm).

Game 7: 2.50pm WBFL Seniors v MSEFL Seniors (Finishing Time 5.00pm).