Which Tatiara town will get your vote for the 2020 Ag Town of the Year?

SHOW: Bordertown High School ag students at last week's Mount Gambier Show.
SHOW: Bordertown High School ag students at last week's Mount Gambier Show.

Seventy towns across South Australia have been nominated for the 2020 Ag Town of the Year award with public voting for the finalists open until October 30.

Of those towns, three Tatiara towns have been nominated for the award - Bordertown, Keith and Mundulla.

Minister for Primary Industries and Regional Development David Basham encouraged South Australians to get involved and back their choice for Agricultural Town of the Year.

"Due to the COVID-19 restrictions we have moved the AgTown of the Year award to later in the year but it is pleasing to see 70 towns nominated," Mr Basham said.

"Through the challenges of 2020, we have seen the importance of agriculture and its ability to keep the economy moving.

"Regional communities play a key role in agriculture and this year's award will no doubt unearth stories of resilience, community spirit and determination."

Mr Basham encouraged all South Australians to go online and vote for their favourite AgTown.

"With 70 towns nominated, up from 43 last year, picking a winner is expected to be a very challenging task," Mr Basham said.

Based on both the public and the independent judging panel's votes, the shortlisted top five towns will be asked to provide responses to the remaining entry questions and an itinerary ahead of a regional visit by the judging panel in January 2021.

The 2020 Agricultural Town of the Year will be announced in February next year with a community event to be held in April 2021 to celebrate the achievement.

Voting closes on October 30, with people limited to one vote per person.