South Australian country footballers who have played for the most clubs

WELL TRAVELLED: Shayne Mitchell (left) and John Hammer played for a combined 23 South Australian country football clubs.
WELL TRAVELLED: Shayne Mitchell (left) and John Hammer played for a combined 23 South Australian country football clubs.

There are plenty of reasons why country footballers decide to play for different clubs, it could be because of work or even just for opportunity.

South Australian country football historian Peter Lines has provided many die hard football fans with some interesting trivia, compiling a list of footballers who have played for the most SA country clubs.

Lines has shared countless historical lists and infographics on his Facebook page 'South Australian Football Digest' during this period with no sport, allowing people to reminisce on players of yesteryear.

On his list of well travelled footballers, many of the players listed have built themselves a reasonable football resume.

A number of South East clubs featured in the list, along with numerous eras of country football.

Topping the list of most clubs played for was Shayne Mitchell, who played for a total of 14 clubs.

He started his career at Christies Beach before moving to the South East to play for Apsley, Lucindale and Border Districts.

Mitchell was the only player found to have played for over 10 clubs, with John Hammer and Brett O'Brien the next best with nine clubs each.

Hammer started his career at Penola before featuring for clubs such as Tumby Bay, Tailem Bend and Peake & Districts.

For O'Brien, he spent most of his footballing career in the Spencer Gulf Football League, featuring for clubs such as Central Augusta, West Augusta, West Whyalla and South Whyalla.

The list contains 16 players and the only other footballer to have links to the South East was Michael Small, with Naracoorte, Apsley, Mundulla and Lucindale being four of the eight clubs he played for.

With football being a massive part of many people's lives, being able to read a list full of players from yesteryear has allowed football fans to get through a period where they are unable to watch local sport.

More lists can be found on Peter Lines' 'South Australian Football Digest' Facebook page.

Full list of players with most SA country clubs:

Shayne Mitchell (14 clubs): Christies Beach, Apsley, Lucindale, Border Districts, United (APFL), Ramblers Angaston, Gawler Central, Langhorne Creek, Encounter Bay, Macclesfield, Callington United Eagles, Hornridge and Lonsdale.

John Hammer (nine clubs): Penola, Waybacks, Wudinna, Cummins Ramblers, Minnipa, Tumby Bay, Tailem Bend, Peake & Districts and Lameroo South.

Brett O'Brien (nine clubs): Quorn Wolves, Central Augusta, West Augusta, Solomontown, West Whyalla, South Whyalla, Rocky River, Southern Flinders and Broughton Mundoora.

Anthony Lippis (eight clubs): Loxton North, Berri, Lyrup, Loxton, Renmark, Paringa, Pinnaroo and Cobdolga.

Tom Tierney (eight clubs): Hawker, Balaklava, Tasmans, Streaky Bay, Curramulka, Tumby Bay, Eyre United and Lock.

Michael Small (eight clubs): Naracoorte, Pinnaroo, Apsley, Mundulla, Border Downs, Strathalbyn, Lucindale, West Gambier.

Don Tschuna (eight clubs): Charra, Rudall, West Augusta, Wirrulla, Tailem Bend, Koonibba, Ceduna, Western United.

Dametrius Steinert (seven clubs): Berri, Loxton, Nurioopta, Tanunda, Freeling, Lobethal and Truro.

Murray Wiseman (seven clubs): Tasmans, Ungarra, Port Neill, Wudinna, United (LHFL), Paruna and United (MLFL).

Simon Sumner (seven clubs): United (RIFL), Paringa, Moorook Kingston, Cobdolga, Barmera Monash and Berri.

John Gascoyne (seven clubs): Central Augusta, Arno Bay, Charra, Thevenard, Kingscote, Gulnare Redhill and Minnipa.

Ron Lycett (seven clubs): Borrika Sandalwood, Tailem Bend, Goolwa, Burra, BBH, Blyth Snowtown and Thevenard.

Grantley Siviour (seven clubs): Rudall, Streaky Bay, BSR Tigers, Wudinna, Flinders, Proprietary and Cowell.

Bronte Kenchington (seven clubs): Wallaroo, Maitland, Bute, Mannum, Central Broken Hill, Kimba and Kimba Districts.

Waylon Johncock (seven clubs): Mallee Park, Ceduna, Koonibba, Gawler Central, West Coast Hawks, Noarlunga and Kadina.

Nathan Johnson (seven clubs): West Coast Hawks, Rovers, Tumby Bay, Tantanoola, Jamestown Peterborough, Cleve and Cowell.


Discuss "South Australian country footballers who have played for the most clubs"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.