Scott Merrett makes SA country team

Penola's Scott Merrett is the sole KNTFl player in the SA Country team to play WA Country in Perth this Saturday.

Fellow Penola player Brad Bryant was in the squad, but didn't make the final cut.

An extended squad was selected after the recent SA Country Championships held in Port Pirie and was reduced on Monday following the weekend's round of country league matches.

To be coached by Penola stalwart Adam Merrett, the Croweaters will tackle the Sandgropers at the new Optus Stadium in the curtain-raiser to the West Coast v North Melbourne AFL match.

SANFL 200 Club member Leigh Ryswyk - who helped guide Central Zone to win the 2019 SA Country Championships title - headlines the talented group which will depart for Perth on Friday.

SA Country will be hoping to win back-to back interstate titles, having defeated WA Country in 2018 by a 5-point margin at Adelaide Oval.

The match - which begins at 1.20pm SA time - will be live streamed on the SANFL website.

2019 SA Country team

Central Zone

Tyson Irlam - Willaston (Barossa Light & Gawler)

Leigh Ryswyk - Barossa District (Barossa Light & Gawler)

Andrew Wright - Gawler Central (Barossa Light & Gawler)

Todd Miles - Barossa District (Barossa Light & Gawler)

Giles Ellis - Kadina (Yorke Peninsula)

Justin Schahinger - RSMU (North Eastern)

Western Zone

Jackson Murphy - Tumby Bay (Great Flinders)

Jaxen Norton - United Yeelanna (Great Flinders)

Xavier Watson - United Yeelanna (Great Flinders)

Jordan Hind - Tumby Bay (Great Flinders)

Ryley Maitland - Kimba Districts (Eastern Eyre)

Sid Masters - Ports (Eastern Eyre)

Northern Zone

Dylan Hewett - Broughton Mundoora (Northern Areas)

Lukas Kangur - Booleroo Melrose Wilmington (Northern Areas)

Brad Eagle - Crystal Brook (Northern Areas)

William Combe - Crystal Brook (Northern Areas)

Jordan Fuller - Proprietary Risdon (Spencer Gulf)

Kriston Thompson - South Augusta (Spencer Gulf)

Murray South East Zone

Jayden Eldridge - East Gambier (Western Border)

Scott Merrett - Penola (Kowree Naracoorte Tatiara)

Sam Pfieffer - Ramblers (River Murray)

Southern Zone

Damon Arnold - Reynella (Southern)


Adam Merrett (Murray South East Zone)

Assistant Coach

Scott Feltus (Western Zone)


Michael Curtis (Western Zone)

This story Merrett makes SA country team first appeared on Naracoorte Herald.